Shahid Khaqan Abbasi takes oath as Prime Minister



Islamabad, Aug. 1 (TNS): As an aftermath of Nawaz Sharif’s disqualification, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi on Tuesday evening takes oath as the 18th Premier of the country.

A simple but graceful ceremony of oath taking held at the President House here.

Prominent personalities, PLM-N key leaders participated in the event where President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath to Abbasi.

Abbasi has swept the election with a majority, bagging 221 votes.

PPP’s Naveed Qamar bagged 47 votes, PTI candidate Sheikh Rashid convinced 33 members while JI’s Sahibzada Tariqullah scored four votes.