Parveen Shakir Trust awards Senator Rabbani, two upcoming young poets for their books of fiction, poetry


ISLAMABAD, April 29 (TNS): The Parveen Shakir Trust (PST) on Saturday gave its annual awards to Senator Raza Rabbani and two upcoming young poets for their books of fiction and poetry at a ceremony held here on Saturday at National Library.

The Parveen Shakir Aks-e-Khushboo Award for Poetry, 2017, was given to Saeed Shariq whose book of poems ‘Saya’ or ‘Reflection’ has won critics’ appreciation.
buy tadasiva online no prescription

Parveen Shakir’s Best Fiction Award 2017 went to the veteran parliamentarian and a strong believer in federalism, Raza Rabbani for his fiction work ‘Invisible People
The book has been applauded by many national and international journals and attracted the attention of the readers. Perveen Shakir Trust Members’ Choice Award 2017 was won by an emerging poet Jia Shah for her collection of poems ‘Bab-e-Gul Mai Hawa Ka Biyan’ that has recently hit the bookstores.
Eminent personalities from various fields of life and genres of literature were invited to celebrate and refresh memories of the great Names of Urdu literature, poets and writers. They lit a candle each as a tribute to the celebrated poet or writer
Among the personalities who lit up the candles in front of portraits of celebrated poets and writers placed on stage, included Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb, Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Syed Khurshid Shah, Senator Maula Bux Chandio, Nargis Sethi, Saleem Sethi, Justice (R) Nasira Javed Iqbal, Hameeda Shaheen, Dr Ziaul Hassan, Senator Raza Rabbani, Dr Hamid Atiq Sarwar, Amina Hassan, Abida Malik, Dr Saleem Malik, Begum Humaira Mustafa, Mustafa Kasuri, Dr Samina Amin Qadir, Dr Khurram Qadir and Syed Hasnain Haider
The poets and writers who were celebrated included Mir Taqi Mir, Mirza Ghalib, Allama Muhammad Iqbal, Josh Maleehabadi, Faiz Ahmed Faiz, Noon Meem Rashid, Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi, Munir Niazi, Jameeluddin Aali, Habib Jalib, Nasir Kazmi, Perveen Shakir, Ada Jafferi and Shakeeb Jalali.