Amid uproar, NA passes Election Bill 2017


Islamabad, Oct 2 (TNS): Amid uproar from opposition parties, National Assembly passed the Election Bill 2017 on Monday evening.

The bill was presented by Law Minister Zahid Hamid in the House.

The development is paving way for former prime minister Nawaz Sharif to regain chairmanship of the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

Opposition members protested the passing of the bill and tore copies of it after it presented by Law Minister Zahid Hamid.

Members of the opposition also chanted slogans against Nawaz Sharif.

Moreover, the amendment to the bill presented by the Jamaat-e-Islami was rejected by the assembly.