Amid uproar, PTI’s Asad Qaisar swears-in as Speaker NA



Islamabad, Aug. 15 (TNS): Amid uproars in the House by PML-N lawmakers, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf nominee Asad Qaiser took oath as new Speaker of the National Assembly.

Qaiser was elected as the speaker of the National Assembly after a one-on-one contest against opposition candidate Syed Khursheed Shah on Wednesday.

Qaiser bagged 176 votes while Shah bagged 146 votes. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq announced the winner.

Total 330 votes were polled out of which 322 were valid while 8 rejected. Asad Qaiser has bagged 176 votes while Khursheed Shah has bagged 146 votes.

Soon after announcement of result, members of PML-N started chanting slogans “vote ko Izat do”. After uproar in the House, newly elected Speaker adjourned the session for 15 minutes.