Dissident PML-N and PML-Q members nominate Quddus Bizenjo as new CM Balochistan


QUETTA, Jan 11 (TNS): PML-N dissidents and PML-Q legislators, who forced Nawab Sanaullah Zehri to resign have nominated former Balochistan Assembly deputy speaker Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo as the new chief minister of the province on Thursday.

According to the details, parliamentary parties in Balochistan Assembly announced on Thursday their consensus on Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo’s as the next chief minister, days after Nawab Sanaullah Zehri resigned in the wake of a no-trust move against him.The decision to this effect was taken during an important meeting held at the residence of a senior politician and former senator, Saeed Ahmed Hashmi, on Thursday evening.

“I hope I will come up to the expectations of the parties who have expressed their confidence in me,” Bizenjo said while addressing a news conference while flanked by other political leaders.

Zehri had resigned as Balochistan chief minister on Tuesday after Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi remained unable to contain a mushrooming political crisis in the province. His resignation was promptly accepted by Balochistan Governor Muhammad Khan Achakzai.Opposition lawmakers were to table a no-confidence motion against CM Zehri in the provincial assembly the same day, but Zehri was reportedly asked to resign ahead of the session to spare his party — the PML-N — further embarrassment on the matter.

Nomination papers for the post of chief minister would be submitted to the provincial assembly on Friday morning and it is expected that Bizenjo will be elected on Saturday.

“With the support of like-minded legislators, Bizenjo will be easily elected as the new chief minister,” Hashmi elaborated.

Bizenjo belongs to the troubled Awaran district of Balochistan and was elected on a PML-Q ticket during general elections 2013. He won the seat, obtaining only 544 of the 57,666 registered votes in the constituency as turnout was an abysmal 1.18 per cent since the separatists had called for a boycott of the elections.Bizenjo played a front-line role in submitting the no-confidence motion against Zehri on January 2.

Former chief ministers Sardar Saleh Bhootani and Jan Muhammad Jamali, who were among strong candidates for the slot, were also present during the meeting which reached a consensus to nominate Bizenjo.

Governor of Balochistan has already summoned an assembly session for January 13 to elect a new chief minister for the provincial cabinet.