ECP accepts all resignations of MPAs, MNAs who secured multiple seats in polls



LAHORE, August 13 (TNS): Resignations of all MPAs, MNAs were accepted on Monday by Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) who emerged victorious in multiple constituency constituencies during July 25 polls.

Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) retained his Mianwali NA-95 seat and opted to resign from NA-131 Lahore, NA-53 Islamabad, NA-35 Bannu and NA-243 Karachi.

Expected opposition leader and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz president Shehbaz Sharif will retain his seat from Lahore’s NA-132 constituency.

Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) president Chaudhry Pervez Elahi has decided to leave his NA-65 and NA-69 seats. He will carry on with his seat from PP-30 Gujrat.

Former chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Pervaz Khattak will leave his provincial assembly seat and maintain the one won in National Assembly.