ECP issues notification of Imran’s victory from NA-131



Islamabad, Aug. 9 (TNS): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued notification of PTI Chief Imran Khan’s victory from NA-131 Lahore.

The Commission also issued notification of the returned candidates from NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-90 Sargodha, PK-4 and PP-26.

Earlier, the Supreme Court on Wednesday set aside a decision of the Lahore High Court to restrain the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) from issuing the victory notification of Imran Khan from NA-131, Lahore, and ordering the returning officer to hold a recount of all ballot papers.

Hearing an appeal filed by Khan against the LHC judgement, Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar remarked that the top court had suspended a similar order of the high court yesterday while hearing a petition regarding election in NA-140.