Ghani, Durrani elected and sworn in as speakers of KP, Sindh Assemblies



Peshawar/Karachi, Aug. 15 (TNS): Mushtaq Ghani and Agha Siraj Durrani on Wednesday elected and sworn in as the speakers of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh Assemblies respectively.

In KP,  Khan received 27 votes out of a total 108 votes polled.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s (PTI) Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani was contesting for the position of speaker against the joint opposition’s Laiq Mohammad Khan of Awami National Party (ANP).

PPP’s Nighat Orakzai could not poll her vote as she arrived late and the presiding officer Sardar Aurangzeb Nalota announced the end of the polling and began the counting process.

In Sindh, Agha Siraj Durrani bagged 96 votes while opposition parties’ joint candidate Javed Hanif could secure 59 votes while 3 votes were rejected.

After polls, Nasir Magsi administrated oath as Agha Siraj sworn-in as Speaker Sindh Assembly for consecutive second time.