NA-120 by-polls: all arrangements finalized   


Lahore, Sept 16 (TNS): Election Commission of Pakistan has finalized all arrangements to hold by-election in NA-120 Lahore in a free, fair, transparent and peaceful manner on Sunday.

Forty-four candidates, including 32 independent and 12 from different political parties, are taking part in the bye-election.

Begum Kulsoom Nawaz from Pakistan Muslim League (N), Faisal Mir from Pakistan People’s Party and Dr. Yasmeen Rashid from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf are the main candidates contesting the election.

The ECP said that the constituency has a total of 3,21,786 registered voters, out of which 1,79,642 are male while 1,42,144 are female voters.

Two hundred and twenty polling stations, including 103 for male, 98 for female and 19 combined, have been set up for bye-election.

Two hundred and twenty Presiding Officer, 573 Assistant Presiding Officers and 573 Polling Officers would discharge their duties on the polling day.

The election commission has also set up seven monitoring teams with 20 officials from Islamabad and the four provinces to maintain the code of conduct and monitor biometric machines.

The Election Commission will also use 100 biometric voting machines on trial basis in 39 polling stations of the constituency.

The decision of using the machines will ensure transparency in the election process while the commission would also examine problems in this system.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission, Punjab has issued the list of twenty-nine thousand six hundred and seven voters of the constituency with missing thumb impressions in the civil registry database of the NADRA, following the Lahore High Court’s order.

The list has been put on display in the office of Returning Officer of NA-120, ECP Punjab office and office of the District Election Commissioner officer.

All necessary administrative and security arrangements have been finalized to hold free, fair and impartial by-election in the constituency.