NA condemns Khan, Sheikh’s insulting remarks for Parliament 


Islamabad, Jan. 18 (TNS): The National Assembly on Thursday passed a resolution condemning Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan and Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rasheed for their statements insulting the parliament.

All major political parties, including Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and Awami National Party (ANP), unanimously condemned Imran on the floor of the august house.

PML-N leader and Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif had called for a privilege resolution against Imran, adding that if the PTI chief refuses to show, he should be arrested and presented before the privilege committee.

Despite repeated attempts, the few PTI members present in the assembly were not given the chance to speak by the Deputy Speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi.’

Earlier today, opposition leader in the National Assembly Khursheed Shah rejected anti-parliament comments made by Imran during the rally organised by Pakistan Awami Tehrik protesting Model Town carnage of 2014.