NA Speaker chosen as president of Asia-Pacific Group of IPU


Doha, April 09 (TNS): Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser was chosen as president of the 34 Member Asia-Pacific Group of Inter Parliamentary Union at Doha today (Tuesday).

This is for the first time in the history of Pakistan that the country has been chosen to lead this important group for a one-year term that also includes China, Iran, India and Japan besides Canada, New Zealand and Australia.

A seven member joint parliamentary delegation, led by the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser  and comprising Senator Raza Rabbani, Senator Walid Iqbal, Senator Shahzaib Durrani, MNAs Shazia Marri, Rana Tanveer -ul- Hassan, Sher Ali Arbab and Agha Hassan Baloch is visiting Doha to attend 140th IPU’s General Assembly.

In another major development, Pakistan’s Sher Ali Arbab was elected to the Standing Committee on Peace and International Security, Shazia Marri was chosen to sit on the High Level Advisory Group of the IPU on Countering Terrorism and Violent Extremism as well as on the Standing Committee on Sustainable Development, Finance and Trade, while Senator Shahzaib Durrani was elected to the Bureau of the Young Parliamentarians Forum.