Pakistan hockey team leaves for Bangladesh to participate in Asia Cup


KARACHI Oct 8 (TNS):  The Pakistan hockey team has left for Dhaka, Bangladesh for participation in Asia Cup, scheduled to take place from October 11 to 22.

Before departure, Head Coach Farhat said that 18 members are a part of the team and he is hopeful the team would clinch the trophy.

Team Captain Mohammad Irfan said that attempts have been made to overcome the mistakes of the past.

“We ask the nation to pray for our victory,” said the team captain.

The third match of the series will be played against India.

Besides Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, China, South Korea, Japan, Oman and Malaysia are also participating in the Asia Cup.

The 10th edition of the quadrennial event will take place at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in Dhaka, returning to Bangladesh for the first time since 1985.

Introduced in 1982, the inaugural Men’s Asia Cup was won by Pakistan, who also won the next two editions in 1985 and 1989. Since then, India (2003, 2007) and Korea (1993, 1999, 2009 and 2013) have also been champions in the nine editions played so far.