PML-N wins PP-20 Chakwal by-poll with big margin


CHAKWAL, Jan 09 (TNS): The ruling party PML-N candidate Haider Sultan thrashed Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf candidate Tariq Afzal with the big margin of over 29000 votes in by-poll of PP-20 Chakwal on Tuesday as per the unofficial results.

According to details, PML-N candidate Haider Sultan secured 75655 votes, runner up PTI candidate Tariq Fazal got 45702 and the candidate of Tehreek Labaik Pakistan secured 16112 votes, as per the unofficial and unverified results of all 227 polling stations of the constituency.

After the victory PML-N leader Mayram Nawaz tweeted that once again people’s court had announced their verdict and expressed their confidence in PML-N.

The seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N member provincial assembly Chaudhary Liaqat. The polling  started at 8:00 am and continued till 5:00 without any break.

According to details, 279570 voters- male more than 144000 and female 1330000- will cast their votes today, while EC has set up 227 polling stations which carry the 421 male polling booths and 393 female polling booths.Related imageElection Election commission has deployed 1855 staff members along with stringent security arrangements. Presiding officers were given the powers of magistrate today as they can take quick action to cope the any untoward situation. Pakistan Army personnel are deployed inside and outside at all the polling stations of the PP-20 by-election.A tough contest is expected among the PTI candidate Tariq Mehmood Fazal, PML-N candidate Sultan Haider Ali and ANP candidate Qaisar Abbasi.The seat was fell vacant after the demise of PML-N MPA Ch Liaqat Ali Khan, who was died on October 30, 2017.In 2013 general election PML-N candidate Ch Liaqat securing 62088 votes got the victory while runner up was an independent candidate and PTI candidate was on third position.