Polling for NA-120 by-election today


LAHORE, September 16 (TNS): Election campaign for the National Assembly constituency NA-120 Lahore-III ended at midnight falling between Friday and Saturday and voting will be held on Sunday.

At least 44 candidates, including Begum Kulsoom Nawaz of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Dr Yasmin Rashid of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Faisal Mir of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), are contesting NA-120 by-election.

A close contest is expected between Begum Kulsoom Nawaz, wife of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Dr Yasmin Rashid.

There are 321,786 registered voters in the constituency who will exercise their right to vote on Sunday. The Election Commission of Pakistan has set up 220 polling stations for the voters.

It is pertinent to mention here that the seat fell vacant after Supreme Court (SC) disqualified Nawaz Sharif over Panama Leaks case on July 28.