PTI names Mehmood Khan as new KP CM


Peshawar, August 9 (TNS): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has finalized the name of former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Sports minister Mehmood Khan as the new Chief Minister of the province on Thursday.

Mehmood Khan joined politics in 2008 and won as UC Chairman from Swat as an independent.

He switched to PTI from People’s Party Parliamentarians in 2012 and has served as sports minister of the province from 2013-2018.

In 2018 general elections he emerged victorious as MPA from PK-9 constituency in Swat.

Mehmood Khan has piped out Atif Khan in the race to become CM of Kyber Pakhtunkhwa, who was also in the race and reportedly Imran Khan’s first choice for the position.

According to reports Mehmood Khan’s name burst on to the scene through lobbying by former KP Cheif Minister Pervez Khattak, who wanted to hold the office again for another tenure and inner circles of the KP government have suggested that he despised Atif Khan.

PTI hold a two-third majority in the province after cleansweep in the general elections securing 66 seats out of 97 in KP assembly.