Sri Lanka Cricket elections on May 19


Colombo, April 20 (TNS): The Annual General Meeting of Sri Lanka Cricket has been scheduled for the 19th May and the nominations will close on the 27th of April, the board’s Secretary Air Commodore Roshan Biyanwala told journalists during a media briefing in Colombo.

SLC’s incumbent President Thilanga Sumathipala is expected to contest the election with his team. The likes of Mohan de Silva and K. Mathivanan (Vice-Presidents), Biyanwala (Secretary) and Shammi Silva (Treasurer) are expected to throw in the hat with the Colombo Parliamentarian. SLC elections are for two year terms.

Sumathipala’s opponents are not yet known although former captain Arjuna Ranatunga is believed to be looking at the possibilities of forming a formidable team that could unseat Sumathipala, who first became the President of SLC in 1998.

Sumathipala has a strong vote base and has never been ousted at a cricket election.

It was also revealed during the media briefing that SLC had made a profit of over US$ six million during the tri-nation Nidahas Trophy tournament. The hosts failed to reach the finals of the event conducted to celebrate country’s 70th Independence anniversary, but commercially the event was a huge success, Sumathipala announced.

Bangladesh qualified for the final against India at the expense of Sri Lanka. The final was a thriller with Dinesh Karthik’s six off the last ball sealing the game for India.

The Nidahas Trophy was not part of Sri Lanka’s FTP but was added last year after India confirmed their participation in a bid to boost the board’s finances.

As reported by Cricbuzz earlier this week, former Test cricketer Asanka Gurusinha was confirmed as the new High Performance Manager. Gurusinha, who is the Manager of the Sri Lankan team, is expected to take over after the tour of West Indies in June. He will replace Englishman Simon Willis. Gurusinha will also undertake the newly established Brian Center.

SLC will announce the new Spin Bowling Coach and Under-19 coach before the end of the month.

Courtesy: CricBuzz