Venue for National Women’s Football C’ship yet to be decided


ISLAMABAD, Sep 23 (TNS): Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) is yet to decide the venue for the National Women’s Football Championship to be held in October this year.
Talking to Media, a PFF official said we have yet to decide the venue for the championship but it will be held either in Lahore or Islamabad.

The championship will feature 16 teams including five club teams, four provincial teams, four regional teams and three departmental teams, he said.

He said teams are divided into four groups of four with the top two of each group advancing to the quarter-finals.

The championship will be played after October 20, he said.

He said Young Rising Star club has won the championship 5 times in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

The other clubs to win the tournament include Balochistan United (2014, defending champion), Malavan BA (Iranian, 2009), Punjab (2005), Sports Sciences (2007) and Wapda (2006).

He said PFF is doing all out efforts to promote women football in the country but time is required to obtain good results.