331 elected MNAs take oath in inaugural session of 15th National Assembly


Islamabad, August 13 (TNS): Around 331 newly elected members of the Assembly took oath in the inaugural session of the 15th National Assembly on Monday.

The members of the lower house of the parliament were sworn in after the general election of July 25.

Current NA speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath in the historic session to the MNAs-elect in the 342-member house.

The session commenced with the MNAs-elect standing up for the national anthem and was followed by the recitation of the Holy Quran.

The speaker then announced the procedure for the election of the new speaker and deputy speaker.

He then administered oath to the MNAs-elect following which they signed on roll-call of members in Urdu alphabetical order.

PM-in-waiting Imran Khan, PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Shireen Mazari, Asad Umer, Pervez Khattak, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Shah Mehmood Qureshi among others are attending the first session of the newly elected House.

On the occasion strict security measure were made, as at least a thousand security men have been deployed in and oustide the parliament building.

Constitution makes it mandatory to convene NA session within 21 days of general elections.

After the oath-taking ceremony, the speaker will prorogue the NA session until August 15, when the new speaker and deputy speaker of the assembly will be elected.

The deadline for submitting nomination papers for the aforementioned slots is 12am, Tuesday while the voting will take place the same day.