PM Abbasi chooses his cabinet with new and old faces


Islamabad, August 3 (TNS): Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has finalized his new cabinet with senior leaders of ruling PML-N and some new faces.

Sources told TNS that former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan will not join the new cabinet.

Ahsan Iqbal will be the successor to Chaudhry Nisar as he will take oath as the country’s new Interior Minister. Ishaq Dar will resume his responsibilities as the Finance Minister.

Khawaja Asif will be appointed as the Foreign Minister.

Khurram Dastagir will be the new Defence Minister of Pakistan, the portfolio previously held by Khawaja Asif.

Mushahid Ullah Khan will be the Environment Minister while Junaid Anwar Chaudhry and Irshad Laghari will also be part of the new cabinet.

The former cabinet stood dissolved after Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by the Supreme Court of Pakistan in the Panama Papers case for not disclosing 10,000 dirhams which were receivable to him.

Dainal Aziz, Talal Chaudhary, Pervaiz Malik, Awais Laghari, Abdul Rahman Kanju, Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiyar and others, would also be given charges as Federal Ministers and Ministers of State.

Former state minister, Maryam Aurangzeb to be appointed as Federal Minister for Information.

President Mamnoon Hussain will take oath from the new members of the cabinet Friday morning after which the cabinet will hold its first meeting to be chaired by Prime Minister Shahid Khanqan Abbasi on same day.