KPK Assembly elects Mehmood Khan as CM


Peshawar,August 16 (TNS): Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly on Thursday elected Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Mehmood Khan as the Chief Minister of the province.

Mehmood Khan bagged 77 votes through ballet, whereas his opposition counterpart from Muttahida Majlis-e-Ammal (MMA), Nisar Gul secured 33 votes out of 124 votes.

The provincial assembly speaker Mushtaq Ghani directed the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf assembly members and its allies to cast their votes behind polling booth 2.

On the other hand the members of the opposition benches were directed to cast their votes for Nisar Gul behind polling booth 1 for the secrecy of ballet.

Later in the day, KPK assembly speaker Mushtaq Ghani administered oath from newly-elected CM Mehmood Khan.